Monday, 7 May 2012

VOTE NOW! U of S 2013 Senate Elections

VOTE NOW! U of S 2013 Senate Elections

The 2013 University of Saskatchewan (U of S) Senate elections are upon us (May 6 – June 28, 2013). As the U of S Senate is "the University’s window on the Province, and the Province’s Window on the University,” all members of U of S alumni are invited to elect Senate representatives.

The U of S is in the midst of a critical transformation period. Within the last year, the U of S has selected a new President, a new Secretary, and a new Chancellor.  The recent development of the “Global Institute for Food Security” and ongoing collaborations with corporations like Cameco through the Canadian Centre for Nuclear Innovation have deepened concerns about corporate influence, research priorities and how these collaborations may negatively impact Saskatchewan residents, particularly First Nations and Métis people in Northern Saskatchewan. Finally, a new “TransformUS” initiative to implement drastic cuts to the majority of U of S programs has sparked vocal opposition from both faculty and students.

Amidst these transformations, it is important to have strong community, faculty and student representation. I firmly believe that a representative, accountable and active Senate can provide a much-needed voice for the people of Saskatchewan. If you are a member of the U of S alumni, please exercise your right to vote. The following candidates represent similar concerns and are widely representative of the Saskatchewan public at large.

Members at Large: Autumn Carlson, Sandra Finley, Mary Jean Hande, Joseph Wickenhauser.

If you live in one of the 4 following districts, you can vote for your district representative as well. If you don’t know which district you live in, please see the Map of Senate Districts.

District 2 (Moose Jaw, Chaplin area):
Tenielle McLeod
District 11 (Prince Albert, La Ronge, Key Lake area): 
Laura Burnouf
District 12 (Uranium City, Shellbrook, Blaine Lake area): 
Patricia Grayston
District 14 (Regina): Malinda Meegoda

All pertinent information for voting (including candidate profiles) can be found on the U of S Secretary’s website. To vote, you must use your username (NSID) and click on the “vote” tab on the website. If you do not know what your NSID is, be sure to contact the U of S Secretary at

Thank you for your continued support and your interest in the future of the University of Saskatchewan.

No comments:

Post a Comment