Saturday, 14 May 2016

University of Saskatchewan Senate Elections, Summer 2016

Hello everyone,

The elections for the university senate have begun; any graduate of the university may vote until June
16th, 2016 at 4:00pm.

We encourage voters to vote for the following candidates, who are endorsed by USSWORD:

Member at Large:
  • Sheila Laroque
  • D'Arcy Hande
  • Kyle Korneychuk
District 8: Doreen Docken

District 11: Johnny Walker 

District 12: Meg Shatilla

Distict 14: Larry Kowalchuk

For voting procedures, candidate biographies and other information, please visit the election website. Technical support issues with voting online can be resolved by contacting the Advancement and Community Engagement office at 306-966-5186 or 1-800-699-1907 or by email at

The University is intended to serve all of society; special corporate and government interests should not be allowed to influence the research agenda and teaching conducted at the University. Unfortunately, in recent years the reduction in support from federal and provincial governments has allowed the University to become beholden to corporate funding. USSWORD is extremely concerned about this trend and the impact it continues to have on the University.

We welcome your participation in our movement to effect meaningful change towards democratic accountability at the University. Your support is extremely important if we are to reverse the extent of corporate influence on University research and teaching.

No comments:

Post a Comment